Temples in Uravakonda

Lakshmi Narasimha swamy temple, Penna Ahobilam

The Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy temple is located on the banks of Pennar river in Penna Ahobilam, Anantapur District of Andhra Pradesh, India.

Address : Penna Ahobilam Rd, Penna Ahobilam, Andhra Pradesh 515812.

Temple Times : 8.00 AM to 11.00 AM AND 5.30 PM to 8.30 PM.

Location : It is located in Nallamala Forest, along the Eastern Ghats.

History of the temple

The temple was built on the footprint of Lord Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy measuring 5 feet 3 inches.

The Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy temple is located in Anantapur District of Andhra Pradesh, India. It is located 220 km from Nandyal and about 185 km from Kurnool, the district headquarters, 41 km from Anantapur and is 12 km away from Uravakonda.

One of temples of Lakshmi narasimha swamy is also at Somaghatta village, Gorantla, Anantapur.

The temple is a popular location for marriage ceremonies.

A grand car festival is conducted annually in the month of April.

Sree Chennakeshava Swamy Temple

Address : Anantapur District, Uravakonda Rd, Near Shivalayam, Chabala, Andhra Pradesh 515813

Phone :085000 77765.


The Chennakeshava Temple is located in Belur taluk in Hassan district of the Indian state of Karnataka. It is about 35 kilometres (22 mi) northwest of Hassan. The temple is about 16 kilometres (9.9 mi) from Halebidu temples. Belur has no nearby airport, and is about 200 kilometres (124 mi) west of Bengaluru (IATA Code: BLR), about 3.5 hours drive accessible with a four lane NH75 highway. Hassan is the closest city near Belur that is connected by railway network to major cities of Karnataka.

The Chennakeshava Temple is an active Hindu temple and a major Vaishnava pilgrimage site. It is located on the banks of Yagachi River (also called Badari River in historic texts), a tributary of Hemavati River.


The Hoysala period of South Indian history began about 1000 CE and continued through 1346 CE. In this period, they built around 1,500 temples in 958 centres. Belur is called Beluhur, Velur or Velapura in old inscriptions and medieval era texts. It was the early capital of the Hoysala kings. The city was so esteemed by the Hoysalas that it is referred to as “earthly Vaikuntha” (Vishnu’s abode) and “dakshina Varanasi” (southern holy city of Hindus) in later inscriptions.

One of the Hoyasala kings was Vishnuvardhana, who came to power in 1110 CE. He commissioned the Chennakeshava temple dedicated to Vishnu in 1117 CE after an important military victory in 1116 CE. According to a later mythology, Vishnuvardhana built this temple to mark his conversion to Sri Vaishnavism after coming under the influence of Ramunuja, but states Shadakshari Settar, the historical records do not support this theory.

The Chennakeshava temple at Belur took 103 years to build. Vishnuvardhana moved his capital to Dvarasamudra (now called Halebidu), where he started the construction of the Hoysaleswara Temple dedicated to Shiva. Its construction continued till he died in 1140 CE. His legacy was continued by his descendants who completed the Hoysaleswara Temple in 1150 CE, and the Chennakeshava temple, Somanathapuri  in 1258 CE. The Hoysalas employed many noted architects and artisans who developed a new architectural tradition, which art critic Adam Hardy called the Karnata Dravida tradition.

The Hoysala Empire and its capital was invaded, plundered and destroyed in the early 14th century by Malik Kafur, a commander of the Delhi Sultanate ruler Alauddin Khalji. Belur and Halebidu became the target of plunder and destruction in 1326 CE by another Delhi Sultanate army. The territory was taken over by the Vijayanagara Empire. The Hoysala style, states James C. Harle, came to an end in the mid 14th century, when King Ballala II was killed in a war with the Muslim army led by Malik Kafur.

Jagadeswari Temple

Address : Uravakonda, Andhra Pradesh 515812.

Opening Hours : 24 hours.

Uragadri Sri Sri Sri Ramalinga Chowdeshwari Devi Temple

Address : Opp- Syndicate Bank ,Uravakonda Pincode:-515812 8th Ward, Grama Panchayat – Chinna Hothur Rd, Uravakonda, Andhra Pradesh 51581.

Opening Hours : 5 AM–10 PM.

Phone : 098495 60663.

Sri Bhramaramba Sametha Malleswaraswamy Temple

Address : Uravakonda, Andhra Pradesh 515812.

Basaveswara swamy temple

 Address : Uravakonda, Andhra Pradesh 515812.

Subrahmanya Swami Temple

Address : Uravakonda, Andhra Pradesh 515812.

Phone : 085005 93697.

Sri Surya Naaraayana Swamy, Ramalingeswara Swamy DeasthanamTemple

Address :  Uravakonda (M) Dist., Budagavi, Andhra Pradesh, 515812.

Phone : 09849905718.

Bheemalingeswaraswamy Temple

Address : Vidapanakallu, Gadekallu, Andhra Pradesh 515842.

Phone : 098499 05718.